Skip to main content


Celestia Essie Wade Butler Smith business correspondence, 1934-1935; 1941-1956

 File — Box: 1 [X030899289], Folder: 3-4

Scope and Contents

Celestia Essie Wade Butler Smith correspondence about publishing her stories, her work with preserving the Confederacy, including creating ways to honor Robert E. Lee with a memorial postage stamp and restoration of Arlington House. Correspondents include Frances Keyes Parkinson, James A. Farley, letters to President and Mrs. Roosevelt, Eleanor Roosevelt (no signature), Irvin S. Cobb, Claude S. Swanson, Douglas S. Freeman, James A. Parham (The Charlotte Observer), Harry F. Byrd, Andrew J. Montague, Harllee Branch, C. B. Eilenberger, Robert Ramspeck, Clark Howell (The Atlanta Constitution), Mrs. Lyon G. Tyler, Robert F. Hutcheson, Mary D. Flournoy, A. Willis Robertson, Mary Joyner Cox, Pearle J. Guthrie, Herschel Johnson, Gregory J. Lock, Mrs. (Lucy) Charles B. Keesee, Clayton Torrence (Virginia Historical Society), O. P. Chitwood, G. F. Martineau, Ambasador David Bruce, N. Claiborne Hale, Albert H. Pretzfelder (Aladdin Books), Millard K. Bushong University of Richmond), Mrs. Leith Stanley Bremner, Kermit Sloan (The Curtis Publishing Company), Edna H. Fowler, Janet Randolph, Mrs. Leopold M. Bashinsky, and L. S. Hairston.


  • 1934-1935; 1941-1956

Conditions Governing Access

The collection is open for research use.


0.08 Cubic Feet (Two folders in legal document box. Box 1.)

Language of Materials


Repository Details

Part of the Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library Repository

Albert and Shirley Small Special Collections Library
P.O. Box 400110
University of Virginia
Charlottesville Virginia 22904-4110 United States